Archives

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

The Names They Gave Us by Emery LordThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 1st June 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

To be completely honest, I picked this book up without knowing what it was about because Emery Lord has become an auto-buy author, apparently, without me actually realising. I loved her debut, and the other books of hers that I’ve read have been pretty solid, so I had to give this one a go.

Continue reading

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery LordWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.

I’ve read both of Ms. Lord’s previous books, Open Road Summer and The Start of Me and You, and enjoyed them both. I was expecting more of the same with When We Collided – a cute summer contemporary with a main character who I could fall for. But Emery Lord has changed everything with this book, including my expectations of her writing.

Continue reading

Lion Heart by A. C. Gaughen

Lion Heart by A. C. GaughenLion Heart by A. C. Gaughen
Series: Scarlet #3
Genre: Historical
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: one-star

Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince's clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate—and her heart—won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

I really, really dislike – hell, I hate – this series, but I had to finish it. Apparently I hate myself too. I didn’t like Scarlet because of the abusive relationships that were romanticised and brushed over, and I only read Lady Thief because I had it on my shelf. Who even knows why I spent money on Lion Heart, because I knew what I was getting into. Whatever, I’m here to call out the abusive and manipulative bastards, so here we go. Continue reading

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. MaasThe Assassin's Blade by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #0.5
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: March 13, 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

Celaena Sardothien owes her reputation to Arobynn Hamel. He gave her a home at the Assassins' Guild and taught her the skills she needed to survive.

Arobynn's enemies stretch far and wide - from Adarlan's rooftops and its filthy dens, to remote islands and hostile deserts. Celaena is duty-bound to hunt them down. But behind her assignments lies a dark truth that will seal her fate - and cut her heart in two forever...

Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine and find out how the legend begins in the five page-turning prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.

While I’m not really a fan of short stories or novellas, and I rarely read them even if they are part of my favourite series or companions to my favourite books, I picked up The Assassin’s Blade before I read the masterpiece that is Queen of Shadows. I was told that The Assassin’s Blade is an essential read for the Throne of Glass series, especially if you’re about to read the fourth book. I 100% agree. The Assassin’s Blade provides backstory for Celaena and shows what her life was like before she was sent to the mines, and why she was enslaved in the first place. Continue reading

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: one-star

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

I don’t really know what to say about this book other than it’s an enormous disappointment and I wish I had never read it. In regards to Maas’ other books, I liked Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight well enough, but Heir of Fire blew me away. Considering A Court of Thorns and Roses was published AFTER that masterpiece, I was expecting more amazing things from a writer who seemed to have gotten this writing thing down.

But actually, my thoughts on A Court of Thorns and Roses can be summarised in one gif:damn africa
Continue reading