Archives

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Genre: Paranormal
Release Date: 5th July 2016
Publisher: Greenwillow
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: two-stars

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

Apparently I just don’t get one well with Victoria Schwab’s YA books. I don’t know what it is, but I felt fairly neutral about The Archived books, and unfortunately I felt the same way about This Savage Song. Schwab’s adult books? Wonderful. I adore Vicious, and ADSOM was excellent. Can’t wait to finish the trilogy. But her YA just doesn’t click with me.

Continue reading

Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

Lying About Last Summer by Sue WallmanLying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th May 2016
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

The story centres around a girl called Skye, who is sent to a camp for troubled teenagers after her sister dies in an accident. However, once she is at the camp she starts receiving text messages from someone pretending to be her dead sister.

Ever since I listened to Wallman talk about her debut at a recent blogger event, I’ve been wanting to read it. It is obvious how much care and passion went into writing it, not only from the way she talked about it but also from the writing itself.

Continue reading

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 3rd May 2016
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks)

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing - if everything's planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

Morgan Matson slayed again <3 She is SUCH a good author that my words are not going to be enough to do her and her books justice. I fell in love with her writing after reading Second Chance Summer, and Since You’ve Been Gone cemented my feelings for her and her books. The Unexpected Everything wasn’t as good as Since You’ve Been Gone, which was about Emily, someone who I connected to on all sorts of levels, but it was still pretty awesome.

Continue reading

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

The Serpent King by Jeff ZentnerThe Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 8th March 2016
Publisher: Crown Books For Young Readers
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

I don’t know how to review this book because quite honestly I have mixed feelings about the book and these types of reviews are always the hardest to write. I didn’t love the book, but I didn’t hate it either. My feelings and opinions are somewhat neutral.

Continue reading

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery LordWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.

I’ve read both of Ms. Lord’s previous books, Open Road Summer and The Start of Me and You, and enjoyed them both. I was expecting more of the same with When We Collided – a cute summer contemporary with a main character who I could fall for. But Emery Lord has changed everything with this book, including my expectations of her writing.

Continue reading