Archives

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 3rd May 2016
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks)

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing - if everything's planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

Morgan Matson slayed again <3 She is SUCH a good author that my words are not going to be enough to do her and her books justice. I fell in love with her writing after reading Second Chance Summer, and Since You’ve Been Gone cemented my feelings for her and her books. The Unexpected Everything wasn’t as good as Since You’ve Been Gone, which was about Emily, someone who I connected to on all sorts of levels, but it was still pretty awesome.

Continue reading

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

The Serpent King by Jeff ZentnerThe Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 8th March 2016
Publisher: Crown Books For Young Readers
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

I don’t know how to review this book because quite honestly I have mixed feelings about the book and these types of reviews are always the hardest to write. I didn’t love the book, but I didn’t hate it either. My feelings and opinions are somewhat neutral.

Continue reading

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery LordWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.

I’ve read both of Ms. Lord’s previous books, Open Road Summer and The Start of Me and You, and enjoyed them both. I was expecting more of the same with When We Collided – a cute summer contemporary with a main character who I could fall for. But Emery Lord has changed everything with this book, including my expectations of her writing.

Continue reading

What We Left Behind by Robin Talley

What We Left Behind by Robin TalleyWhat We Left Behind by Robin Talley
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 22nd October 2015
Publisher: MIRA Ink
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: two-half-stars

Toni and Gretchen are the couple everyone envied in high school. They've been together forever. They never fight. They're deeply, hopelessly in love. When they separate for their first year at college—Toni to Harvard and Gretchen to NYU—they're sure they'll be fine. Where other long-distance relationships have fallen apart, their relationship will surely thrive.

The reality of being apart, however, is a lot different than they expected. As Toni, who identifies as genderqueer, falls in with a group of transgender upperclassmen and immediately finds a sense of belonging that has always been missing, Gretchen struggles to remember who she is outside their relationship.

While Toni worries that Gretchen, who is not trans, just won't understand what is going on, Gretchen begins to wonder where she fits in Toni's life. As distance and Toni's shifting gender identity begins to wear on their relationship, the couple must decide—have they grown apart for good, or is love enough to keep them together?

What We Left Behind is Robin Talley’s second novel, a follow up to the excellent Lies We Tell Ourselves. I think it’s fair to say that I had very high expectations for this novel so it was doubly disappointing for me when it didn’t meet any of those expectations at all.

Continue reading

The Elite by Kiera Cass

The Elite by Kiera CassThe Elite by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #2
Genre: Dystopia
Release Date: 23rd April 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: one-star

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon's heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America's chance to choose is about to slip away.

A short list of things that happen in this book:

1. America reads diaries.

2. Maxon dates other women but still macks on America. She, having never listened to Destiny’s Child in her life, still somehow thinks this is okay behaviour.

3. Aspen…is a character, I guess.

4. Literally nothing else of note.

Continue reading