2013-DEBUT-SHOWCASE

2013 Debut Showcase: April

The purpose of this feature is to show you guys which YA debuts I’m most looking forward to, and which ones I’ve enjoyed. Hopefully it’ll also help build some buzz around some of these debuts. There will be one post at the beginning of each month showing the top three upcoming debuts I’m most looking forward to and excited for, and it will also wrap up the previous month by showing which debuts I read and enjoyed.

So, without further ado, here are the March debuts that I have read, and my thoughts on them in a couple of sentences.

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza
An action packed sci-fi that would have been so much better without the romance.
My Review
The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett
This started off well, but I quickly grew bored because it was all very cliché.
My Review

Poison by Bridget Zinn
A cute fantasy with a pig!
My Review
Pretty Girl Thirteen by Liz Coley
Disturbing and thought-provoking. I’d recommend this to mature readers!
My Review

As for my top three most anticipated April debuts, here they are…

 

My Life After Now by Jessica Verdi

Lucy just had the worst week ever. Seriously, mega bad. And suddenly, it’s all too much—she wants out. Out of her house, out of her head, out of her life. She wants to be a whole new Lucy. So she does something the old Lucy would never dream of.

And now her life will never be the same. Now, how will she be able to have a boyfriend? What will she tell her friends? How will she face her family?

Now her life is completely different…every moment is a gift. Because now she might not have many moments left.

Lexi Ryan just ran away to join the circus, but not on purpose.

A music-obsessed, slightly snarky New York City girl, Lexi is on her own. After making a huge mistake–and facing a terrible tragedy–Lexi has no choice but to track down her long-absent mother. Rumor has it that Lexi’s mom is somewhere in Florida with a traveling circus.

When Lexi arrives at her new, three-ring reality, her mom isn’t there . . . but her destiny might be. Surrounded by tigers, elephants, and trapeze artists, Lexi finds some surprising friends and an even more surprising chance at true love. She even lucks into a spot as the circus’s fortune teller, reading tarot cards and making predictions.

But then Lexi’s ex-best friend from home shows up, and suddenly it’s Lexi’s own future that’s thrown into question.

With humor, wisdom, and a dazzlingly fresh voice, this debut reminds us of the magic of circus tents, city lights, first kisses, and the importance of an excellent playlist.

The Ward by Jordana Frankel 

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

14 comments on “2013 Debut Showcase: April

  1. Mel@Thedailyprophecy April 5, 2013 6:11 pm

    My life after now sounds very good. I’m fascinated by the subject, because I haven’t read anything about it before. I love the cover from The Ward :) and my copy from Pretty girl thirteen arrived today. I can’t wait to read it.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • Amber (Books of Amber) April 7, 2013 2:55 pm

      Yessss, I agree! I’ve never seen YA touch upon it before, from what I can remember. OHMYGAWD, I can’t wait to see what you think of Pretty Girl Thirteen.

  2. Kelley April 5, 2013 6:30 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Mila 2.0 and The Nightmare Affair, so your comments make me nervous. (I’m still going to read them, though.) I’m also pretty interesting in The Ward; it looks great!

    • Amber (Books of Amber) April 7, 2013 2:57 pm

      Mila 2.0 is great when it comes to action. I still liked it, but the romance was completely stupid. I hope you like both books, though!

  3. Sirtsu April 5, 2013 7:19 pm

    Mila 2.0 – hmhhh.. I didn’t know if I wanted to read it and I’m still not sure, but I think I’ll give it a try someday. The reviews are either hateful or fangirl-ish. Sucks that the romance ruined it. The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett – I’ve heard that cliché talk everywhere. Oohhh, My Life After Now is one of my most anticipated April reads as well – it sounds so, so good :) And that Circus book – Giselle at Xpressoreads did a wonderful review on it. I’m always up for a little adventure.

    BTW, Amber, LOL! Hush, Hush is a guilty pleasure of mine, too. I can’t help but love it even though it’s so cliché sometimes and I really hated Nora and Patch in Crescendo, but still. It’s a favorite of mine, lol.

    • Amber (Books of Amber) April 7, 2013 3:00 pm

      Definitely give it a go. I don’t think my review was too hateful, apart from when I commented on the romance, haha. I managed to ignore it for the most part and just focus on the cool action scenes. YESSSS, My Life After Now sounds FAB.

      Hahahaha, tell no one! I can’t believe I like the series so much after Patch tried to freakin’ murder Nora in the first book. Alas. I have issues XD

  4. Kristin April 5, 2013 9:35 pm

    I can’t wait to read the ward, I am so in love with the cover, I haven’t read Mila yet but,it’s on my list. I read The Nightmare Affair and it reminded me a lot of a Harry Potter like book, I enjoyed it though. Thanks for sharing!

    Kristin @ Young Adult Book Haven

  5. Lauren Mackesy April 6, 2013 12:21 am

    The Ward was really thought provoking. I live in NY and it was really scary to think this might be our future.

  6. Jenea Whittington April 6, 2013 1:33 pm

    I want to read Mila 2.0 so badly. I’ve read The Ward and That Time I Joined the Circus, they were great. Poison was amazing wasn’t it??!! hope you get to read them all and enjoy them. 😀

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    • Amber (Books of Amber) April 7, 2013 3:04 pm

      Poison was adorable! EEEE, thanks! I’m so excited for all of them, especially since you loved Thee Ward and That Time I Joined the Circus!

  7. C.J. Listro April 7, 2013 2:41 am

    Great picks. I have Poison and Pretty Girl-13 sitting on my bookshelf waiting for me. I’m excited to read. You’ve also convinced me to read Life After Now. And I think it’s cool how you said Mila would have been better without the romance. It’s nice to see people who realize that plot is important too!

    C.J.
    Sarcasm & Lemons

    • Amber (Books of Amber) April 7, 2013 3:06 pm

      I hope you enjoy both books! Pretty Girl Thirteen broke my heart. Haha, I seem to have an issue with romance in most YA. I like plot and character development over everything else, so I wish that the romance would be cooled down a bit. If it’s a series, why not slow it down and stretch it out? It doesn’t need to be so in your face.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>