Archives

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Stardust by Neil GaimanStardust by Neil Gaiman
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: October 28, 1998
Publisher: Headline Review
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love.

“A wise man once said: “Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at the stars because we are human?” Pointless, really. Now, do the stars gaze back? That is a question.”

Okay, so I’m not really what you’d call a Neil Gaiman fan, and really only picked up the first book I’d ever read, Coraline, because I’d watched the movie and absolutely loved it. Even if it did creep me the fuck out. But after reading Stardust, I’m starting to understand the hype. Continue reading