Archives

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book by Neil GaimanThe Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Genre: Paranormal
Release Date: September 20, 2007
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn't live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod's family.

The Graveyard Book was my first Neil Gaiman experience, and I must say that I’m very pleased! I definitely want to read more of Gaiman’s works, particularly Coraline and Stardust since I enjoy the movie adaptations of both, and I want to see what the source material is like. The Graveyard Book captured me from the very first page, and didn’t let me go until the final chapter. Continue reading

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Stardust by Neil GaimanStardust by Neil Gaiman
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: October 28, 1998
Publisher: Headline Review
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love.

“A wise man once said: “Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at the stars because we are human?” Pointless, really. Now, do the stars gaze back? That is a question.”

Okay, so I’m not really what you’d call a Neil Gaiman fan, and really only picked up the first book I’d ever read, Coraline, because I’d watched the movie and absolutely loved it. Even if it did creep me the fuck out. But after reading Stardust, I’m starting to understand the hype. Continue reading