Archives

Whisper the Dead by Alxyandra Harvey

Whisper the Dead by Alxyandra HarveyWhisper the Dead by Alyxandra Harvey
Series: The Lovegrove Legacy #2
Release Date: 7th October, 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Gretchen is struggling with her newfound gift as a Whisperer; the constant buzzing in her ears from detecting spells is more frustrating than fun, especially when she is spending time with one of the Order of Iron Nail's Keepers, the icy but strikingly handsome Tobias Lawless. But while Gretchen tries to hide the truth and resolve her feelings for him, London fades from beautiful and bustling to deathly silent ...Something evil is once again menacing Mayfair, and Gretchen and her cousins must use their powers to prevent a horrible sacrifice.

This second book in the Lovegrove Legacy trilogy is full of dark twists, spellbinding suspense and sweeping romance - perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Lauren Kate and Ruth Warburton.

I am not gonna lie, I don’t have as clear an idea of what happens in this book as I did with the first book in the series, A Breath of Frost but Whisper the Dead was just as fun. I really am enjoying this new series because each book has been a light, funny, romantic read. And the characters are fantastic – it’s like Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty without all the bleak social commentary (although there is a huge amount of social commentary in this series, it’s just that Harvey approaches it with humour).

Continue reading

A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey

A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra HarveyA Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey
Series: The Lovegrove Legacy #1
Genre: Fantasy, Historical
Release Date: 2nd January, 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

In 1814, three cousins—Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope—discover their family lineage of witchcraft when a binding spell is broken, allowing their individual magical powers to manifest. Now, beyond the manicured gardens and ballrooms of Regency London, an alluring underworld available only to those with power is revealed to the cousins. By claiming their power, the three cousins have accidentally opened the gates to the underworld. 

Now ghouls, hellhounds—and most terrifying of all, the spirits of dark witches known as the Greymalkin Sisters—are hunting and killing young debutante witches for their powers. And, somehow, Emma is connected to the murders…because she keeps finding the bodies. 

Can the cousins seal the gates before another witch is killed…or even worse, before their new gifts are stripped away?

So I read this book back in March and looooooved it. It is honestly one of the most unashamedly fun novels I’ve ever had the pleasure to read and I definitely recommend it for a rainy day. Or any other day tbh – five stars, people, I showered them on this book.

I love stories about ~other~ towns, with the real world on one side and the more fantastical on the other. It’s just such a fascinating idea to me, that the extraordinary could be hiding among the mundane and a huge amount of my favourite novels incorporate this idea in some way. A Breath of Frost introduces us to our main character Emma and her cousins Gretchen and Penelope, who realise their family lineage when a powerful spell is broken. Emma and her cousins are the latest in a long line of witches but the novel doesn’t just focus on them – although Emma is our protagonist we still have other characters who add to the story and as I mentioned, it is these characters who (initially) illustrate the ‘other’ side of the mundane. This is a book brimming with magic, from goblin markets to shape-shifters, A Breath of Frost pretty much was written for me.

Continue reading