3.5 stars

The Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie West

The Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie WestThe Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie West
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th May 2015
Source: Bought
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

I can always count on Kasie West to give me the best fluff. It’s been years since I read her first fluffball (I don’t know, it just feels right), and she hasn’t disappointed me since. The Fill In Boyfriend was delightfully cheesy, light-hearted (for the most part), and shiptastic. I enjoyed every moment of it, even when I was stressing out over the characters’ lies when they were getting out of hand.

Continue reading

Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

Lying About Last Summer by Sue WallmanLying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th May 2016
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

The story centres around a girl called Skye, who is sent to a camp for troubled teenagers after her sister dies in an accident. However, once she is at the camp she starts receiving text messages from someone pretending to be her dead sister.

Ever since I listened to Wallman talk about her debut at a recent blogger event, I’ve been wanting to read it. It is obvious how much care and passion went into writing it, not only from the way she talked about it but also from the writing itself.

Continue reading

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

The Serpent King by Jeff ZentnerThe Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 8th March 2016
Publisher: Crown Books For Young Readers
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

I don’t know how to review this book because quite honestly I have mixed feelings about the book and these types of reviews are always the hardest to write. I didn’t love the book, but I didn’t hate it either. My feelings and opinions are somewhat neutral.

Continue reading

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery LordWhen We Collided by Emery Lord
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.

I’ve read both of Ms. Lord’s previous books, Open Road Summer and The Start of Me and You, and enjoyed them both. I was expecting more of the same with When We Collided – a cute summer contemporary with a main character who I could fall for. But Emery Lord has changed everything with this book, including my expectations of her writing.

Continue reading

UnSouled by Neal Shusterman

UnSouled by Neal ShustermanUnSouled by Neal Shusterman
Genre: Dystopia
Release Date: November 7, 2013
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-half-stars

Connor and Lev are on the run after the destruction of the Graveyard, the last safe haven for AWOL Unwinds. But for the first time, they’re not just running away from something. This time, they’re running toward answers, in the form of a woman Proactive Citizenry has tried to erase from history itself. If they can find her, and learn why the shadowy figures behind unwinding are so afraid of her, they may discover the key to bringing down unwinding forever.

Cam, the rewound boy, is plotting to take down the organization that created him. Because he knows that if he can bring Proactive Citizenry to its knees, it will show Risa how he truly feels about her. And without Risa, Cam is having trouble remembering what it feels like to be human.

With the Juvenile Authority and vindictive parts pirates hunting them, the paths of Connor, Lev, Cam, and Risa will converge explosively—and everyone will be changed.

The Unwind Dystology has turned out to be such a great series, although UnSouled definitely has that filler book vibe to it. Much of UnSouled is taken up by Shusterman building up to the grand finale in the fourth and final book. Nothing much happened, but since Shusterman is such a great author, I read this book fairly quickly and I wasn’t at all bored. Continue reading