Archives

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Falling Into Place by Amy ZhangFalling Into Place by Amy Zhang
Genre: Contemporary
Release Date: September 9, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow
Source: Publisher
Add it: Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

As you can tell by the blurb and quite possibly the cover, Falling Into Place is a book about a girl who crashes her car in an attempt at suicide. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it, because when this topic is touched upon, I think the author has to be very careful and considerate with what they write. Amy Zhang did a fantastic job at showing Liz’s thought process and what led up to the crash, and also what the other characters (pretty much the whole time) were feeling on the run up and in the aftermath. Continue reading